The EPU is a growing organisation. In 2003 some people first came up with the idea of starting a European umbrella organisation, in 2006 this became more specific when representatives of 9 countries had a meeting during a Polio Conference in Italy. There they decided to really make the EPU work!

The Board of the EPU consists of the following members:

  • David Mitchell, United Kingdom (President)
  • Pat McGillion, Ireland (Vice President)
  • Tine Tournicourt, Belgium (Treasurer)
  • Stefan Grajcar, Slovakia (Secretary)
  • Macrina Clancy, Ireland
  • Robert Cordier, France
  • Michal Haindl, Czechia
  • Frances Quinn, United Kingdom
  • Paul Neuhaus, Germany

Medical advisor
Prof. Dr. Frans Nollet, Academical Medical Hospital, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

The EPU joined:

  • The EFNA (European Federation of Neurological Associations)
  • EURORDIS (European Organisation of Rare Diseases)
  • PatientView, European Patient Group Directory
  • Fédération des Associations Européennes et Internationales établies en Belgique – FAIB (Federation of European and International Associations established in Belgium)